Advocacy and Compassion

What do you think it is to be a victim? Do you think it’s someone who spews self pity for themselves and lives in a state of drama? Or do you lean on the side of compassion and look at this person and say “I understand” “How can I help you?” Having been a victim and now a survivor, living in both worlds is equally as difficult. You claw your way through your days when in the victim role. And when you are a survivor it does not become all sunshine and roses. You now claw harder and dig yourself up harder each day. Both require a lot of courage and strength. I do not judge anyone that comes to me in either states. I listen. I’ve been there. I can relate. I’ve chosen to step into the role of advocating for victims and survivors of Domestic Violence, as well as other circles, because I know what it takes to claw your way back to a better life. I know how hard it is to have a voice, so I’ve chosen, once I found my own voice, to become that for others. I wear many hats in this role of advocacy. The one common denominator between everything is compassion and belief in others. The stronghold when the link is weak. The arms to lift someone. The legs to walk that extra step for them. I’ve chosen to rise above so I can be there reaching for their hand. You may know me but to really know me is to understand that there is many facets to who I am. It does not mean I’m an indecisive person. It means I continue to seek ways to help others. Every tool in my tool belt called life has helped not only me but others. You can put me in the middle of anything and I will find my way out. I will also be the one dragging someone with me if they are struggling. Advocacy and Caregiving run through my blood. I watched my mom care for everyone. I learned from the best. This road I’m traveling is never ending. Each journey is just that, a journey. No destination. Just a continuance of the many roads we must go down in order to secure a better life for all. Cures, treatments, education, prevention, food, physical fitness. Advocacy. The many things this world lacks and needs more of. Helping others and loving them through it all. Can you do that? I can. It’s just a no brainer for me. It’s second to loving yourself.

This entry was posted in Write to Feel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment